top of page
  • Jackalyn Beck

September Personal Garden Update


A small kale plant is beginning to grow.
Kale is starting to grow.
"To plant a garden is to believe in tomorrow."

- Audrey Hepburn


Every morning (and most evenings) going out to my garden helps me believe in a brighter tomorrow. Ben may joke that I care too much, but every time a plant starts popping out of the soil, I do a happy dance. Every. Time.


I have never had my own in-the-ground garden before. So the my garden plan and each vegetable variety have been rigorously researched. That said, I decided to go with a no dig garden. I've liked it quite a bit so far. It has worked nicely, even my beans seem to like it. Only a few weeds have managed to get through, for the time being. I did have an erosion problem for a bit, but I was able to solve it.

My bush green beans are growing happily.
My bush green beans.

I have some kale, green beans and squash growing pretty well. Within the next week or two I will also plant some spinach and carrots. I will also do some succession planting for just about everything. I have and some thinning to do, especially on the squash.


After my fall harvest I will probably do a more in-depth review of the system and my seeds. In the mean time if you have any specific questions feel free to contact me.










63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page