top of page
  • Jackalyn Beck

I’m writing an eBook on SEO (and I’m terrified)

Why and how I’m writing an SEO eBook

Passive income seems to be the pinnacle of “success” in 2022. Part of me wants to buck the trend, but another part of me really, really wants to provide a valuable product and make passive income. So, I’ve decided to write an eBook on something I’m good at- SEO. More specifically, content SEO. The catch is, I’m equally terrified and excited and the idea of writing an eBook kickstarts my imposter syndrome in all the wrong ways.


Someone in a suit holds a young plant. This is symbolic of how I hope to grow my freelance writing business.
Growth is key.

I wanted to share this process with y’all in the pursuit of transparency, authenticity, and accountability. Plus, it’ll be really funny looking back at this post five years from now and seeing how much I’ve grown.


Why I’m writing an SEO eBook

Content creators seem to be intimidated by SEO. In truth, SEO can be complex

and overwhelming, which makes it the perfect topic for me to simplify and clarify. If you’ve read my post on simplifying marketing terms you already know how much I ADORE taking complicated subjects and turning them into understandable content. I want SEO to be something everyone can understand and use.


I also have experience with the many renditions of search engine algorithms. I’ve been writing SEO content since I started freelance writing back in 2014. So, I’ve had to keep up with the trends and changes. My experience and skills combine to allow me to create a uniquely valuable eBook.


When am I going to write an SEO eBook?

You’ve probably noticed, I’m awful at keeping up with my blog. I’m also awful at updating my website copy despite writing copy and content for a living. In fact, the reason I’m bad at posting on my own blog is because I spend all day helping brands connect with their audience. As a freelance content writer I spend most of my day writing blogs and other articles so it’s hard to make time to maintain my own blog and brand.


I started working on the eBook back in late January when my friend, Bailee Boggess, wrote and began selling her first eBook. Less than a week after that blast of inspiration my resolve started to wane. Since then I’ve done some basic work on my eBook but haven’t made a lot of progress. Currently, my goal is to finish writing the book by June 15. However, figuring out how to publish and sell it might take some time. So, in short, I’m not sure when the book will be available for purchase.

A copy of Christy Wright's book Business Boutique sits on top of a notebook with a pen off to the side. I used this book to plan my freelance writing business goals.
Passive income is one of my goals.

Who I’m writing an SEO eBook for

Long story short, writing an eBook scares me. It doesn't help that it's about a hefty topic like SEO. This project is important to me because one of my goals is to have some passive income. I won’t pretend that this isn’t at least partially for the money. I don’t want to be a starving artist, even the Renaissance needed funding. However, what matters most to me is who I am writing it for. I’ve talked with other freelance writers and bloggers who feel overwhelmed by SEO and I want to provide a valuable, actionable, understandable resource.


What about SEO intimidates you most? What topics would you like to see me cover in my book? Get in touch and tell me what you think.


I have been a freelance content writer since 2014. I create SEO articles with clarity, quality and authenticity. If you are looking for a writer who delivers results, contact me.

71 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page