top of page
  • Jackalyn Beck

5 Cheap or Free Garden Containers

Updated: Jul 30, 2020

When I was in college I did not have a massive budget or a ton of space in my dorm for a container garden. So, I adapted everything from water bottles to dollar store containers. While they might not be the best in the long run, it let me garden on a meager budget. Many things I adapted I still use today.


Yogurt container I turned into a succulent pot.
Yogurt container turned into a succulent container.

1. Recycled containers

Cost: Free!

Take a look around your house and in your recycle bin. Chances are, you have something you can turn into a flowerpot. My personal favorites are coffee or tea tins and yogurt containers. I also really love the sheep feeder one of my friends gave me, it hangs perfectly off of my balcony. Yes, I did say sheep feeder!

Some things are harder to adapt as planters than others. For example, some items need drilling holes while others can you can poke holes in. For this yogurt container (left) I put a small cup into it so the roots don't get flooded. Note: This plant is on the slow road to recovery. It was dying, so I bought it for fifty cents!


2. Home depot and Lowe's "misfit" pots

Cost: Free!

Yes! You can get free containers from stores. No, this isn't a coupon, it's the power of asking. If you go to the back of your local hardware store or nursery, they often have a pile of planters to toss out. Since they are not going to use them, all you have to do is ask and most of the time they will give them to you for free.

The perk to this is they usually come with drainage holes and are ready for you to plant in right away. This is also nice environmentally since you are reusing waste.


3. Eclectic pots

Cost: as little as 50 cents

Ever been to a yard sale or thrift store and seen a teapot or other container you think is cute, but do not know how to use? Now you have a use for them! Anything from teapots to tires to old shoes make creative planters!

I'd recommend having a bit of intention when picking out containers like this. At least imagine what plant you would put into it and how you would adapt it. Otherwise, you might spend money buying things you won't use.


My favorite dollar store planter.

4. Dollar store baskets

Cost: $1

The dollar store offers an array of containers you can turn into plant pots. Dollar stores usually offer plant pots in the spring. But, they offer larger buckets and organizers all through the year.

I first check the seasonal section for pots. Then, I make a bee-line for the back where the miscellaneous containers are. I have a few that were supposed to be locker boxes and a few other baskets. It is nice because they have handles and are easy to move. The only thing I did to transform them into pots was poke drainage holes in the bottom.


5. Containers from Freecycle, Craigslist, etc.

Cost: Free!

I love online groups like Freecycle! Not only are people offering things for free, but you can offer things for free as well. It was a big help when my husband and I moved together and we had some miscellaneous things to get rid of.

You never know what you are going to find. The other day a man in my area was offering a fully-functional flat-screen TV. I've seen people offer anything from plant starts to fancy pots. On Freecycle, you can post requesting goods. Which is handy because you can ask for specific supplies you need or ask for seed swaps. When people are willing to give and help each other, the possibilities are endless!

Please remember to be careful when meeting people to exchange stuff from these sites. I meet at my local library or the Buc-ee's since they are public and safe. I usually bring Ben along for company. I have never had problems before but always better to be safe than sorry!

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page